Old 04-27-2013, 07:16 AM   #1
Wise Elder

2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Rope lights inside roof lockers

We have had an ongoing problem on both the trailer and the truck camper of insufficient light reaching the interior of the roof lockers. The flipper doors partially shade the locker from direct illumination from ceiling lights.

I'm thinking of running rope lights along the inside top face frame to help with this. Since I've never worked with rope lights before, I'm wondering if anyone has done something similar or has any general advice.

Also wondering how the rope LEDs are working out in practice compared to the incandescent rope, out there in the real world. The differences in cost, power consumption, and heat output are obvious -- the differences in light output and reliability less so.

Old 04-27-2013, 07:35 AM   #2
cwf
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
I put warm LED over roof locker. Camera doesn't do justice. LED drivers /dimmer are key.

For inside, Not wanting to always be turned on when door opens means switch power through door switch or other method. I bought rope LEDs in two colors, waterproof with adhesive.

To try them for light output I put the spool inside a dark plastic bag, applied power and pulled the illuminated strip out until I had the amount of desired light. Then just kill power and cut the strip at the proper cut line you can see on the strip.

Very pleased.

I am using surface mount dimmer drivers which just plug in. I bought a couple of them. This way if I have a failure it is simple to swap out.

Pm if you want specs on purchased items.

cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 07:36 AM   #3
Well Preserved

1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina