Old 06-11-2005, 08:26 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1984 28' Funeral Coach
Belleview , Florida
Thumbs up Porch light cleaning

How do I disassemble the light over my entry door? Looks like mildew on the inside of the lens. I appreciate the inside info... quick look did not give me any clues as to how this opens.

Glen Coombe AIR #8416
1984 28' Funeral Coach
Former Rolling Showroom & PuttLab (now party bus)
"I'm not an expert. But I did sleep in an Airstream last night."
GlenCoombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 10:20 PM   #2
Well Preserved

1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlenCoombe
How do I disassemble the light over my entry door? Looks like mildew on the inside of the lens. I appreciate the inside info... quick look did not give me any clues as to how this opens.
Glen, first, welcome to the forums!
Your porch light should have two phillips screws holding the lens in place just above the doorframe. Remove these, and the lens should drop out of the hole. Clean, and re-install. A piece of cake. The entire housing does not need to come off. A friend has a 28' motor home sitting in my driveway, and that is how his comes out.

Old 06-12-2005, 08:40 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1994 30' Excella
Currently Looking...
Milwaukee , Wisconsin
That's exactly right. Two philips screws hold the lens on. You may have to work the lens a little to get it down. After you get everything cleaned out and a new bulb installed consider cutting a new lens from plexiglass. I am going to put a clear one in so the light has more power, I put a new clouded lens in but it is to dull.
Old 06-12-2005, 08:58 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1992 30' Airstream 30
Santa Rosa , Northern California wine country
Good question, as I have the same problem and am actually tackling that today. I see two screws holding the metal housing on. I plan to unscrew those and hopefully the lens comes out. It looks like a plastic one to me. I'll post a pic later.