Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2009, 11:51 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
nick6930's Avatar
 
1979 Argosy 27
1969 21' Globetrotter
1953 25' Cruiser
Front Royal , Virginia
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 402
Blog Entries: 9
New License Plate Light Bracket Only has one wire?

OK, First of all I am horrible when it comes to electric. All I know is when I touch the two wires to my tongue it hurts (just joking.) I bought a new License Plate Light Bracket but the new one only has one red wire and the old one has a black and red. I know they are two different bulbs but what does that mean?

-Do I need to replace the complete light bulb socket on the new bracket to match the original light?
-Or is there a way to make this light work?
-Can I buy the socket at a auto parts store?

I have a pictures of the old and new. I dont know what the old bulb type is but the new one is #67 bulb .

Thanks for your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P6180139.JPG
Views:	153
Size:	157.8 KB
ID:	82522   Click image for larger version

Name:	P6180140.JPG
Views:	160
Size:	187.5 KB
ID:	82523  

Click image for larger version

Name:	P6180141.JPG
Views:	162
Size:	190.2 KB
ID:	82524  
__________________

nick6930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:09 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
bullydogsmom's Avatar
 
1972 25' Tradewind
old mystic , Connecticut
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 320
Take a test light and see if both wires have power. You only need a single filiment light. Wire the red to red and put a wirenut and tape on the black one,and just use the red wire. I really dont see the need for 2 filiments, It's only a license plate light right? On our 72 the blub has only a single filiment.

Annette

P.S. we just installed the exact same light on our Tradewind.
__________________

__________________
bullydogsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:29 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
easyride's Avatar
 
1977 27' Overlander
1973 27' Overlander
1963 19' Globetrotter
Naples , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,259
Images: 1
WIRE THE 2 REDS TOGETHER,the black is ground,to make sure your door is grounding,crimp a circular end on the black and use one of your screws to hold it. Dave
__________________
easyride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:31 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
nick6930's Avatar
 
1979 Argosy 27
1969 21' Globetrotter
1953 25' Cruiser
Front Royal , Virginia
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 402
Blog Entries: 9
I am sorry that I forgot to add that I hooked up to my TV and tried connecting just the red and the light did not work. So I got a tester and touch both red and black and the tester worked so the wires do have juice going to them. Do I just tie the black and red together and do it that way? I just dont want burn up anything.
nick6930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:32 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
nick6930's Avatar
 
1979 Argosy 27
1969 21' Globetrotter
1953 25' Cruiser
Front Royal , Virginia
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 402
Blog Entries: 9
Easy ride

I was typing as you posted. I will try that. Thanks
nick6930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:32 PM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
bullydogsmom's Avatar
 
1972 25' Tradewind
old mystic , Connecticut
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 320
Easyride, If he has juice to BOTH wires doesn't that mean that one is not a ground? He is showing a 2 filiment blub that he took out. Just trying to learn something here.
Plus you can't test the light to see if it works unless the body of the light is touching the trailer.i.e. you can't have it hanging off by just the wires.
Annette
__________________
bullydogsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 02:33 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
easyride's Avatar
 
1977 27' Overlander
1973 27' Overlander
1963 19' Globetrotter
Naples , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,259
Images: 1
???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullydogsmom View Post
Easyride, If he has juice to BOTH wires doesn't that mean that one is not a ground? He is showing a 2 filiment blub that he took out. Just trying to learn something here.
Plus you can't test the light to see if it works unless the body of the light is touching the trailer.i.e. you can't have it hanging off by just the wires.
Annette
Just noticed the old unit had the double element,have no idea what is going on,my light only has 1.If both are hot on running lights ,pick 1,wire nut the other.Dave
__________________
easyride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 03:51 PM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
nick6930's Avatar
 
1979 Argosy 27
1969 21' Globetrotter
1953 25' Cruiser
Front Royal , Virginia
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 402
Blog Entries: 9
I believe one is hot the other is neutral. I am thinking that I may need to get a double element outlet, but I am not sure
nick6930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 04:08 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
bullydogsmom's Avatar
 
1972 25' Tradewind
old mystic , Connecticut
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick6930 View Post
I believe one is hot the other is neutral. I am thinking that I may need to get a double element outlet, but I am not sure

Nick, If they both are producing juice one can't be a neutral. The body of the fixture has to touch the skin of the trailer to get a ground.

Try this, Keep the trailer plugged into the tv, turn the light switch OFF, test the 2 wires do either /or of them have power? You shouldn't. Then turn the switch on, test the 2 wires again. If they both have power then just pick one, wire nut the other off and attach the light to the shell the screws that you attach the light with will ground the fixture. Don't forget to vulkem the light. We had to enlarge the hole in the trailer because the new socket was deeper than the old one.

Annette

P.S. if electicity is not your strong point,It's not my husband either, Just wait until you decide to swap out the univolt for and new quiet inverter
__________________
bullydogsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 04:12 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
look inside the old socket and tell us how many contacts do you see?
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 05:04 PM   #11
4 Rivet Member
 
nick6930's Avatar
 
1979 Argosy 27
1969 21' Globetrotter
1953 25' Cruiser
Front Royal , Virginia
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 402
Blog Entries: 9
There are two contacts in the old socket and the light bulb as well. The new one only has one. I dont know how much it matters but I am working on a 79 Argosy.

Annette I will give it one more try and then I think I will stuff the wires inside for another day. Already did the Intelli power converter that was easy. Radios I can handle as long as there are two old wires two new wires.
nick6930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 05:09 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
that's odd. connect the red to red and touch the black wire to the new frame. it should light up.
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 05:16 PM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
nick6930's Avatar
 
1979 Argosy 27
1969 21' Globetrotter
1953 25' Cruiser
Front Royal , Virginia
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 402
Blog Entries: 9
ANNETTE YOU WIN THE PRIZE!!! I was attaching the black wire to the skin and the white metal. I could figure out how that would work being the metal was painted white. But I guess it needs to be attached to the galvenize metal so that it is completing the circuit. Thanks for your help. it has been a long day of working on numerous projects on the Argosy.

I turned the light off and then had the idea for the photo. Now I have to fiish installing it make it pretty.

Thank God I go back to work tomorrow to rest.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P6180143.JPG
Views:	160
Size:	170.2 KB
ID:	82553  
nick6930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 08:03 PM   #14
4 Rivet Member
 
RBolton's Avatar
 
Belington , West Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by easyride View Post
WIRE THE 2 REDS TOGETHER,the black is ground,to make sure your door is grounding,crimp a circular end on the black and use one of your screws to hold it. Dave
I think Dave won the prize.
__________________

__________________
RBolton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
argosy, electric, license plate bracket


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
75th Anniversary License plate/bracket davidz71 Modifications 3 12-17-2012 01:09 AM
license plate light gasket Isadora Lights - Interior & Exterior 8 04-15-2008 10:32 PM
License plate light drain? vhord Lights - Interior & Exterior 2 03-27-2008 06:52 PM
New License Plate Bracket Airhog1 Community Polls 4 09-24-2007 06:28 PM
Rusty License Plate Bracket RivetED Clearcoat, Exterior Paint & Trim 5 09-06-2004 10:09 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.