Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar > Lights - Interior & Exterior
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-23-2018, 09:32 PM   #1

1974 29' Ambassador
Somerville , MA
Question Is tow vehicle battery power sufficient???

Hi there,
This is my first time posting and I confess to being a complete rookie. So please pardon my ignorance... The demo of my 1974 Ambassador Land Yacht included removing the UniVolt, 12V distribution panel, RV battery, and basically everything electrical aside from the wires and exterior lights. My question is, will just attaching the 7-pin connector to the tow vehicle provide sufficient power to the exterior lights/signals (& brakes??) for towing? (ie Can I use just the TV's battery?) Also, where do I connect my white/ground wire? And is it necessary to connect the blue/charge wire if I don't have an RV battery to charge?
Thanks all!
thatfeybabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 09:42 PM   #2
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
The exterior lights and rakes are all powered from the tow vehicle and not the electrical system in the trailer. The only thing additional required for legal towing is a break away system to stop the trailer if it gets away from the tow vehicle. This would require a switch to activate the brakes and a battery on the trailer to energize the brakes.

I assume that you will install an electrical system as part of your restoration.

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 07:49 AM   #3

1974 29' Ambassador
Somerville , MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by azflycaster View Post