Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2011, 08:09 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1978 31' Sovereign
Parkersburg , West Virginia
Question Intermittent interior 12 volt

Let me start by saying I'm a newb. With that, I just bought a 78 Sovereign 31' center bath that had sat for about 8-10 years. When I bought it (about a week ago), I hooked up a brand new battery and everything 12 volt worked like a charm. Closed it up for the weekend.

Two days later, came to clean/work on it and all the the 12 volt lights/outlets worked except the two bathroom lights. We just figured the bulbs had burned out.

The next day, nothing 12 volt would work. We left it alone for the night.

The next night, all the 12 volt worked again except the bathroom lights. We finished working and left for the evening.

The next day nothing 12 volt would work. I noticed the battery cables were frayed so i repaired them but it was a no go. None of the 12 volt lights/outlets have worked since. The system control reports a full battery and oddly enough, the fan on the range still works. I tested all lines at the fuse box and everything checked out. There is one orange line that runs off of a terminal on the fuse box but i've yet to identify it.

Anyone have any ideas as to what could be causing this?
GreyMattr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 08:31 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Excella 500
West Sacramento , California
I'm no 12v expert but I'm wondering if the univolt is shot? or the fuses blown?
4RXLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 08:37 PM   #3
Site Team

1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougsale View Post
I'm no 12v expert but I'm wondering if the univolt is shot? or the fuses blown?
I agree. Both are likely, and if you have a Univolt converter, change it ASAP plus replace the 12V fuse panel.