Old 03-17-2007, 01:12 PM   #1
Naysayer

1968 24' Tradewind
Louisville , earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Boondocker
Basic LED questions

Background: Like many here, I am interested in the benefits that can be derived from changing over from the original bulbs in my camper to LED replacements. Apparently, unlike most of you, I have no idea about the particulars involved. I am not an electrician, however, with clear enough instructions I can muddle my way through most projects eventually. So with this in mind here is the situation:

Mission: Two parts: 1) replace the interior lights with LED lights. 2) Replace the running light and brake lights with LED lights. Images of current exterior lights are attached.

Focused questions: 1) Will I need to replace the interior fixtures, or are the LEDs for the interior made to simply replace the current bulbs? How do I determine which bulbs to get and where is a good place to get them? 2) My questions for the exterior lights mirrors those about the interior lights. Am I looking at bulb replacement or fixture replacement as well? Am I correct in understanding that special lenses are required for LED lights? Finally, if new fixtures are required, where can I find ones that will require the least alteration of the coach and maintain the vintage look to the greatest degree possible?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	brake turn .jpg
Views:	71
Size:	260.7 KB
ID:	34038   Click image for larger version

Name:	running light.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	170.0 KB
ID:	34039  

Visit my photography page
and the
Favorite camp grounds project map
My Blog

(The artist formerly known as General Disarray)

Boondocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 01:17 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1967 26' Overlander
Huntsville , Alabama
A Moderator with RTV?

My gawd man!! Is that silicone rubber around that running light?

Tom

TomW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 01:26 PM   #3
Naysayer

1968 24' Tradewind