Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-25-2010, 11:25 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1974 31' Sovereign
Port Richey , Florida
1974 31' Plug For Trailer Lights

I have a newer truck with a standard tow plug, what do I need to connect to a 1974 Airstream light hookup? Where can i get one? Im a noob so any help sure would be great. This is my first Airstream.

Thanks
FloridaMV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 12:55 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1963 16' Bambi
1962 22' Safari
Yreka , California
Hello

I don't have a definite answer- but if it were me I would take a few nice closeup digital pics of what you currently have on the trailer -- then do the same with what you have on your tow vehicle. You have choices at this point if they don't match. Take it to an RV repair place to rewire and match; or go to your local auto parts store and see if you can find an adapter that will connect the two. In my small experience it seems wiring is a constant challenge and never consistant.
CaddyGrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 10:09 PM   #3
Site Team

1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Welcome to airforums.com, you'll find a world of infomration and advice here.

I read your thread about picking it up. Pretty normal, I think

Suggest you keep all the photos in one thread, and use it as a "blog" for your work on the Sov. It makes for better reading, and on a '74, it's bound to be a l-o-n-g one... The sub-forum where you put your towing lights, for example, is for '74 Sovereigns.

There's a Camping World in Seffner, FL, that should have many of the things you'll need right away.

What you're looking for here is called an "umbilical" cord, and if your trailer's the same as mine, there is a spring-loaded little hatch right in the middle of the front of your trailer where it plugs in.

That plug is pretty common, shouldn't be hard to find one.