Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-28-2010, 08:20 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 29' Ambassador
El Paso , Texas
Poor Water Pressure

I have a 1974 Airstream Ambassador with a rear bath. I have had problems with poor water pressure for sometime, additionally I have had leaks in the p-trap and pvc piping from the bath underneath the trailer. I've taken the trailer to several different shops and no one wanted to touch it. When I finally got someone to work on it they took the skin off of the back of the trailer and seemingly repaired all of the leaks, although there is a crack in my auxillary tank that they tried to "patch" but it still leaks, so I am not using it to hold water. The problem with the water pressure is that when I first turn the water on I get GREAT pressure for about 5 seconds, then it goes down to a drizzle, sometimes a complete stop. They checked the water pump and all the faucets. They found a lot of sediment and cleaned it out. Apparently they would let the water run and clean the sediment for about 1 hour. This problem with flow happens in both the bathroom and kitchen, the shower and even the toilet. While it was at the shop it seemed they had fixed the problem. The first time back at the trailer park and it started again IMMEDIATELY. Since it is happening in all water outlets the problem would have to be before the water is split. First off; has anyone experienced this before? Any ideas on fixing it? I think it may have something to do with the water heater. Maybe there is sediment in the heater itself that "plugs up" the outflow. There are no other filters in this system that I know of. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Dave
bdavolley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:40 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey