Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-21-2005, 07:59 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

newbie here

Well I am thankful I've found this place, I think.
I just found a set of rules on buying an older Airstream on this forum, I seem to have broken them all. I am 51 and my wife and I have wanted an Airstream for years, but we like the old ones. I just bought a '64 overlander. Bought the first one I looked at, from someone who had traded a boat for the trailer. He knew nothing about it, just hadn't been able to sell the boat and thought the trailer might sell quicker, it did. He thought most everything worked. Well I didn't give much for it, I guess that comes now.
Anyway after all that, I have been looking for a name on the toilet, it won't hold water in the bowl, must be some kind of seal. I see a name "Saniware" on a base part and swirlomatic on a metal ring. All I see in a catalog of RV parts is Thetford stuff. Is this the same brand? What all typically needs repair on these things?
Thanks Joe
okjoek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 08:09 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
1964 26' Overlander
1977 25' Tradewind
Eastern , Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by okjoek
Well I am thankful I've found this place, I think.
I just found a set of rules on buying an older Airstream on this forum, I seem to have broken them all. I am 51 and my wife and I have wanted an Airstream for years, but we like the old ones. I just bought a '64 overlander. Bought the first one I looked at, from someone who had traded a boat for the trailer. He knew nothing about it, just hadn't been able to sell the boat and thought the trailer might sell quicker, it did. He thought most everything worked. Well I didn't give much for it, I guess that comes now.