Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-12-2013, 02:36 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1966 30' Sovereign
port o connor , Texas
WH Pilot Light Not Staying Lit

The pilot light will not stay light on my 66' Sovereign. It will light when on "pilot" (and will hold it on "pilot" for 30sec), but the flame will die when the switch is let go and moves to the "on" position.

I have attempted to do research on this issue, but have not found anything that I have been able to follow as I am new to airstream trailers.

I know it may be the thermo couple, but do not know where to get a new one and how to replace it. Any help is appreciated. I live out of the trailer and no hot water is definitely a pain.
Hadassah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 03:00 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Which pilot light? Oven, water heater, furnace?

If there's a thermocouple try holding the lighter in the pilot light for a minute or two to thoroughly warm the device.

If it's more than one pilot light - you may have some water in your propane lines - it happens over time. If you hear gurgling that's the ticket. Turn everryting off, drain the line and try again.

Replace the thermocouple if it's just one appliance.

Paula
Old 11-12-2013, 04:47 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Yeah, sounds like the thermocouple. It can be checked but you need a meter that measures microjewels. Just as easy to put in a new one, they don't cost very much.