Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-15-2009, 03:45 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1980 22' Caravelle
1975 20' Argosy 20
woking , surrey
water pressure problems

So, I decided to take some chances and took our 1980 caravelle out for a 2 week trip, 3 days after having picked it up from liverpool harbour..... Needless to say (especially as I am new to caravanning, let alone airstreams) that I had some system issues to resolve while on the road.

The one issue I have not been able to resolve is the fresh water system. The caravan supposedly has been used regularly and when I bought it the seller claimed all systems were working properly. Lets assume that that is true.

There is hardly any water coming out of the cold and hot water taps (from kitchen, shower or washbasin) and the pump keeps on running when I close all taps. I have tried taking out all air from the system per the manual (run pump with taps, cold and warm, opened marginally), checked for water leaks which I cannot find, closed the toilet water line, but no success.

The shurflow manual suggets that if the pump keeps on running air maybe trapped in the hot water tank (but that should have been sorted by letting the hot water taps open for a while) or air may be trapped in the pump.

How do you bleed the water pump of all air? Should the pump be able to do that by itself?