Old 09-23-2012, 11:12 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1970 31' Sovereign
Durango , Colorado
Tankless Water Heater or Standard?

Help Please! I got myself into a pickle and bought an Airstream that is ending up needing quite the work. The pressing topic right now though is a water heater. I live in Northwestern New Mexico / Southwestern Colorado so it definitely gets cold and I will be wintering in it. I'm a nurse so at the end of a day or night ... I need my hot shower to clean off the day. I would like water pressure, which concerns me about the tankless, but I also would like a shower that lasts longer than 5 minutes, my concern with the standard 10 gallon. Any suggestions? I have to order it ASAP since the guy is working on it this week. Thanks!

Old 09-24-2012, 12:29 AM   #2
USN/LAPD Retired

2005 25' Safari
North Las Vegas , United States
I saw the tankless at Camping world the about a month ago. They would have do the install (i would think) as it would require rerouting the plumbing and maybe some electrical mods.

"Better to have more then you need, then need more then you have because you don't have enough!"
AIR #: 8129
Safari-Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 12:57 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2005 19' Safari
GLENDALE , AZ
If you have a working hot water heater installed already, I'd try it before you spend a lot of money on a tankless heater. We frequently take two teenage granddaughters with us; and while my wife and I try to conserve water, on occasion, the two girls have managed to use up nearly our entire freshwater tank taking showers. (My wife and I now take our showers first, and the girls take theirs afterwards.)

In any case, we have never run out of hot water with the OEM hot water heater.