Old 09-11-2011, 09:41 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2006 22' International CCD
2007 Base Camp
Elk Valley , British Columbia
Some kind of short out... help?

So... I'm new to my 2006 22' International... have found quite a few 'surprises' in the last couple days of exploring...

Opened up the water heater door to check it over before I tried to make hot water... the second brown wire called 'T-STAT' has a little add-on wire with some doo-dad inside. It looks like this wire bent over and contacted the metal of the exhaust... either the heat burnt it, or it shorted and burnt, or both...

Should I even try light this? What is that little add-on, and is it available as a separate piece?

It's hard for me to tinker, as we're getting below freezing at night and I don't want to blow anything up...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010359.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	120.3 KB
ID:	140004  

Old 09-11-2011, 10:03 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Southwestern , Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friday View Post
Should I even try light this? What is that little add-on, and is it available as a separate piece?
Hard to tell from the picture but I think maybe the little add-on doodad is a thermal fuse, put there to open the thermostat line and shut off the gas valve in case there is a fire in the water heater compartment. It looks like the outside end may have made contact with either the burner or the compartment door and shorted out to ground.

If I were you, with the compartment door open, and a helper inside the trailer to turn on the water heater while you watch what happens at the water heater, I would turn on the water heater and see what happens. The igniter should spark and the gas burner should eventually light. (It may take a minute or two if the gas has been shut off at the tanks for a while.)

If the water heater works OK you can wrap some electrical tape around the burned insulation and maybe tie-wrap the doodad to nearby wires to keep it from shorting out again.