Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-20-2003, 02:50 AM   #1

need to install a water heater...choices?

I just got an airstream ('72 Sovereign Land Yacht 32'). I am in need of a water heater but have no idea what my choices are. I would like to have a tankless one. Is this feasible? I'd also like one that is environmentally conservative. I am also trying to get my a/s set up on solar.
I'm new to all of this, so any suggestions and obvious info would be wholely appreciated.
Thanks for having a forum
Old 03-20-2003, 06:35 AM   #2
Rivet Master

LOST , Hawaii
I considered a tankless heater also, but they are expensive. Plus you are going to have to patch the existing opening and make a vent for the new one; every hole in the skin is a potential leak. The tankless heaters are not small and you will need to find space for it.
There are choices in the rv models. The base standing pilot model, electronic ignition, and ones with supplemental AC heat rods.
Conservation will become a way of life unless you are on a full hookup site. Water is very limited. I have a standing pilot model and it is not lit until I need hot water. Once the water is heated the pilot will keep it warm for quite awhile without the main burner coming on again. Showers, dishes, etc. are done while the water is hot and then it is shut off. Propane use is not insignificant, but can be kept minimal if it is only run when needed.

John
74Argosy24MH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2003, 08:07 AM   #3
Just a member

1978 28' Argosy 28
Lutz , Florida
Send a message via AIM to thenewkid64 Send a message via Yahoo to thenewkid64