Old 12-22-2010, 06:05 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1980 22' Caravelle
Bay Area , California
Leaking water from Shurflo...

Hi all,

I'm a newbie owner of a 1980 22 foot Caravelle. When I turn on the water pump and water, I noticed water leaking in the front (by hitch) and back behind axle (under shower). After investigating, water shoots out the black part (the crack between the the two pieces) of the pump. Does it need a seal or something replaced? Sorry...also a newbie plumber apparently too!

Thanks!
Kelly
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	water pump.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	89.3 KB
ID:	117585  

Old 12-22-2010, 06:52 PM   #2
1 Rivet Member

1980 22' Caravelle
Bay Area , California
Also...I'm guessing I might need to clean the filter (thing to the right?) and wondering if water will start spilling everywhere if I attempt to dismantle it.

Old 12-22-2010, 07:10 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1997 30' Limited
Omaha , Nebraska
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ritagirl View Post
Also...I'm guessing I might need to clean the filter (thing to the right?) and wondering if water will start spilling everywhere if I attempt to dismantle it.
I'm thinking you need to install a new water pump and clean the filter. Neither of these two operations is difficult, mostly a screw on and screw off process.
Beware, if your trailer has older pvc pipes, they are brittle and break easily in the worst-to-get-to places.

Order a pump that is similar in output (CFM) online or pay the premium at your local dealer. Install it yourself and save $100.

JIM

WBCCI #22116
JimW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 01:02 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2005 22' Safari
Hyde Park Place , Ohio
Also, prepare yourself. Once you have repaired this leak, your new pump may reveal other leaks that may need repairing. If that comes to pass, we'll be lined up with offers of help and advice.

Don't let it get you down. It's all good
Old 12-23-2010, 08:01 AM   #5
Rivet Master

1968 24' Tradewind