Old 10-03-2009, 03:17 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2009 20' Flying Cloud
San Rafael , California
Hot water heater does not work

Hello! I have a question about water heater. We have a new 2009, 20 flying cloud. Great rig we've been dreaming to own for many years. Finally we bought one. Everything works great except the heater?! It has electronic ignition switch in the bathroom. All tanks are full. The LP valves are open, all appliances are in good working order, bypass valve closed. And still no hot water?! The water flows normally from the hot side of the faucet . The red light goes on and off three times and when its off I can hear that the spark tries to ignite, but then the light on the electronic switch( in the bathroom) goes on and after that nothing happens it stays on. It seems like the gas from LP Bottles is not getting to the spark. Please help, maybe there is another gas valve somewhere? Or maybe it is a factory defect or something else. I am new to the airstream. Dmitry

Old 10-03-2009, 05:06 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
When the red light is on, it indicates that the heater did not light. It will come on when you first turn on the switch but in a moment it should go off and stay off.

When ever I turn on the gas in my 20', I immediately light the stove as it is farthest from the LP tanks. It take a while for the air to be purged and the stove to light. Then my water heater, heat and refrigerator all light on the first try.

Old 10-03-2009, 08:36 AM   #3
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAMPOTA s View Post