Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Water Heaters, Filters & Pumps
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-02-2015, 02:37 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Fort Worth , Texas
Hooked up water in winter and can't get water pump to pump water

i brought out my 2012 FC for New Years. It was winterized.

Hooked up everything I thought but the water pump isn't pumping water. Barely any water comes out when I'm off grid and using fesh water tank. I hear the pump running but am not getting desired results.

I'm new to all of this so what could it be? I relight ended the valves to the water pump with no luck.
mrpettit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 04:58 PM   #2
retired USA/USAF

2001 30' Excella
Somerset , New Jersey
Check all fittings to make sure they are tight and not sucking any air. You might need to help along getting it to prime if it 's been sitting awhile. If you get the water flowing it should be good after that. If not you might be in for a new pump or a rebuild if you can get the parts.

" Democracy is the worst form of government. Except for all the rest"
Winston Churchill 1948

TAC - NJ 18

polarlyse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 05:35 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

1997 25' Safari
Montgomery , Alabama
This will sound loony. I couldn't get water out of my faucets after dewinterizing. Sound but no flow. I was about to replace faucet innards ....then I took the aerator off the end of the faucet. That was it --TWICE! Tiny drops of water had expanded in that mechanism and jammed it closed. (now I take off both aerators and spray nozzles during winterizing) if I had pumped pink RV anti-freeze through my system, this would not have been a problem.