Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Water Heaters, Filters & Pumps
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-27-2016, 10:33 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1968 30' Sovereign
New Richmond , Wisconsin
Gas supply for Atwood water heater

Hi everyone! I can't seem to find a local plumber that's interested in a small job, so I've decided to do this myself and am coming to the Forum community for help.

I am replacing the original water heater in our 1968 Sovereign with an Atwood Mod # GE-9-EXT water heater. I have the water heater in place, and next comes the plumbing. My question is regarding the gas supply to this water heater. Please know that I am a novice when it come to this!

Originally, the PO had a shut off valve underneath the Airstream to which he had connected the copper gas supply to the old Bowen? water heater. (Picture attached). My two questions are:

1) - what size gas supply do I need to supply the new Atwood water heater? It looks like a 3/8" ID supply - but - the 3/8" ID copper I find has a 1/2" OD and that 1/2" OD looks too big to slide into the rubber gasket (2nd picture attached) that enters the wall of the water heater. Also, that shut off valve underneath the trailer is for a 3/8" nut - not a 1/2" nut. What am I missing?

2) I would also welcome any advice on whether to run the new gas line extension to that existing shut-off valve under the trailer - vs - running a new line back to the junction of where the three gas lines (fridge, furnace, and water heater) come off of the main propane supply line.

Thank you and any advice will be greatly appreciated!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1739.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	170.8 KB
ID:	272439   Click image for larger version