Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-23-2018, 08:06 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1976 31' Sovereign
Mill Valley , California
Best On Demand propane water heater?

Water heater newbie here. I want the Truma aquago, but I CANNOT pull my trailer to a dealer/installer.
https://www.truma.com/us/en/products...er-heater.html
I am hoping for some good suggestions to get as close to that recirculating,long shower, true On-Demand functionality as possible.

I am considering precisiontemp
https://precisiontemp.com/products/rv-550/

My brain, and lack of experience, is having a hard time comparing these.
Would love support!!!

Zoe
GiftingGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2018, 07:02 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 27' Overlander
Baltimore , Maryland
I have the Precisiontemp RV-550. It's a little fiddly when taking a navy shower because it requires a certain amount of flow to kick on. Every time you turn the shower back on, you have to cut the cold water off until the heater kicks on, then put the dial back in position. It's workable, but takes some getting used to.

If you're doing a lot of boondocking, you might be better off with a tank type heater. We really only get to use the capabilities of our heater when we have full water hookups. And the freeze protection is a nice feature.