Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2014, 09:29 PM   #15
Rivet Master
 
gandttimes's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB International
2007 20' Safari SE
2005 19' Safari
Qualicum Beach , British Columbia
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by PharmGeek View Post
I hate hate our micropulse

I think I will ask JC for this upgrade - how much did they charge?


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
Gee, when I talked to Randy at JC he said that he hadn't had any complaints about Micropulse. He did however authorize a complete change of all sensors and head unit on our 2014 25ft.
Supposedly everything works now. I will report on our upcoming trip.


George
__________________

__________________
gandttimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 06:12 AM   #16
Rivet Master
 
dbj216's Avatar

 
1986 34' Limited
1966 24' Tradewind
Conifer , Colorado
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,119
I found the Garnett SeeLevel monitors well designed. I found the company very helpful with trouble shooting a voltage ripple problem caused my my 20 year old converter making my SeeLevel monitor erratic. I would highly recommend the SeeLevel tank monitors. Here is a picture of the stick on circuits I applied to my new Trade Wind waste water tanks.

Neat system.

David
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1404 Waste Tanks See Level Senders.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	331.5 KB
ID:	225426  
__________________

__________________
dbj216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 06:00 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
2016 30' Classic
Erie , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,245
Images: 1
Here's a photo of the fresh water side where the factory installed my FW sensor. The black/grey tanks had to be dropped so the sensors on those were installed while they were fixing the black tank sprayer.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1273.jpg
Views:	307
Size:	268.1 KB
ID:	225523
__________________
Gary
2015 Classic
2015 GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax
ProPride
NØVPN
ghaynes755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 07:22 PM   #18
4 Rivet Member
 
SSquared's Avatar
 
2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
Longmont , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 495
Apply SeeLevel sender from inside?

Here is a picture of the curb side of my fresh water tank. I took this picture by reaching my camera back past my water pump, pipes, and heat duct, while in the center aisle of my trailer. This is on a 2013 25FB Flying Cloud.

With this amount of room and limited access, could the sender be properly attached from inside? Does it just still on with adhesive? Do you have to apply adhesive to the tank side, the sender side, or both?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FWTank.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	101.8 KB
ID:	225525  
__________________
SSquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 07:28 PM   #19
Rivet Master
 
Bruce B's Avatar

 
2012 16' International
Jamestown , Rhode Island
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,385
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmeikle View Post
Gee, when I talked to Randy at JC he said that he hadn't had any complaints about Micropulse. He did however authorize a complete change of all sensors and head unit on our 2014 25ft.
Supposedly everything works now. I will report on our upcoming trip.


George
Not sure you should believe everything they say...
Micro pulse problems are well known there. I believe that I remember that someone here on the forums successfully campaigned for a replacement of their MicroPulse with the SeeLevel system. I would wager that it is a squeaky wheel situation...
Bruce
__________________
Bruce B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 07:33 PM   #20
4 Rivet Member
 
greghoro's Avatar
 
2013 25' Flying Cloud
Wheaton , Illinois
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 345
Excellent picture of the fresh water patch. Tells me exactly where to make the cut.

Gary, if you could be so kind, would you also post a picture showing how Airstream fashioned a bezel for the monitor? I believe that the monitor is a bit smaller than the MicroPulse unit.

Another item which has me still trying to figure out. See Level says to keep the sensors away from metal, at least 2". The waste tanks have a metal pan, so putting the sensor on the outside perimeter of the wast tanks would put the sensors close to the metal pan, most likely less than the suggested 2". I would guess that one could alleviate this issue by cutting an opening in the metal pan where the sensors go and patching the opening with a non-metallic material. Thoughts anyone?

Greg
__________________
greghoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 07:54 PM   #21
4 Rivet Member
 
greghoro's Avatar
 
2013 25' Flying Cloud
Wheaton , Illinois
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 345
SSquared, thanks for the picture. I thought about going from the inside after Airstream suggested that as an alternative. But I would have to remove the wardrobe floor, water pump and water pump support to get any type of working clearance in my model. Other models may be more lucky in this regard, such as Bruce B with his Bambi.

The sensor has the adhesive on it. You remove paper from the sensor to reveal the adhesive and then press the sensor to the tank. Think of peeling the backing off of a paper mailing label. One cannot slide the sensor into place once the adhesive is revealed, it must be pressed on perpendicular to the tank wall. And you only get one shot to do it.

Greg
__________________
greghoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 08:02 PM   #22
Rivet Master
 
dbj216's Avatar

 
1986 34' Limited
1966 24' Tradewind
Conifer , Colorado
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,119
I think it would be tough to position a SeeLevel sensor circuit in such tight confines. The 3M adhesive is very sticky. You only get one shot at positioning the circuit. You must cut the circuit to fit your tank height. And there are two wire connections to make.

My sensors are mounted close to the frame rail. The instructions say to insulate the sensors from metal. I used 3/16 rubber sheeting. It is working so far.

SeeLevel requires a very good ground plane, like less than 8 ohms resistance from the instrument ground wire to the DC frame ground bolt. SeeLevel wants an exclusive ground wire to the ground bolt. Mine was okay as I had cleaned the frame during my floor rot replacement project. Made a nice, shinny, tight ground.

Here are a couple of my photos for what they are worth.

David
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1404 Waste Tanks See Level Rubber Insulation.jpg
Views:	150
Size:	328.0 KB
ID:	225532   Click image for larger version

Name:	1404 Waste Tanks See Level Display.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	259.6 KB
ID:	225533  

__________________
dbj216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 08:35 AM   #23
Rivet Master
 
kscherzi's Avatar
 
2013 27' FB International
El Dorado Hills , California
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,136
Images: 24
Greg,

Have you tackled the replacement project yet? Please post photos and lessons learned. I'll be next in line to replace the micropulse on my 27FB.

Just finished boondocking for a few days and being really stingy on water only to discover upon leaving and draining the fresh, must have had 15 gallons left over. The whole time micropulse was blinking red empty. Would have liked a nice shower instead.

Kurt
__________________
kscherzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 08:50 AM   #24
Rivet Master
 
switz's Avatar

 
2014 31' Classic
2015 23' International
2013 25' FB International
Apache Junction , Arizona
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,799
Images: 8
Our SeeLevel monitor is mounted above the ship's clock (see my avatar). The wires harness to the MicroPulse system was intercepted and spliced into for the SeeLevel system. We put a nice hickory cover board over the MicroPulse hole for a future sign which will also be steel for magnetic note/receipe holders.

We installed the senders low on the fresh water tank and high on the black and gray. I do not see a level change from full in the fresh water tank after getting 10 gallons out for the refresh water for the black and gray water tanks (5 gallons each) when at the storage unit. But it is about spot on when the fresh water is low.

We have yet to test the "limits" of the grey and back water tanks.
__________________
WBCCI Life Member 5123, AIR 70341, 4CU, WD9EMC

TV - 2012 Dodge 2500 4x4 Cummins HO, automatic, Centramatics, Kelderman level ride airbag suspension, bed shell

2014 31' Classic model 30 twin beds, 50 amp service, 900 watt solar system, Centramatics, Dill TPMS, disc brakes, 16" tires & wheels
switz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 09:03 AM   #25
Rivet Master
 
KJRitchie's Avatar

 
2008 25' Classic
Wichita Falls , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,217
Did you have to drop the waste and water tanks to install the sensor on the side of the tanks, or did you cut access panels out of the waste and water tank covers under the Airstream?

Were you able to use the existing telephone wiring?

This project is on my wish list for my 2008 Classic 25fb

Kelvin
__________________
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 10:24 AM   #26
Rivet Master
 
gandttimes's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB International
2007 20' Safari SE
2005 19' Safari
Qualicum Beach , British Columbia
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by gandttimes View Post
Gee, when I talked to Randy at JC he said that he hadn't had any complaints about Micropulse. He did however authorize a complete change of all sensors and head unit on our 2014 25ft.
Supposedly everything works now. I will report on our upcoming trip.


George
As reported elsewhere, after a complete fail of my system 3 days into my last trip, Midtown RV, campaigned on my behalf ( Thankyou Brenna) to have A/S replace my system under warranty on my 2014 25FB Int.
The tech who did the install is on these forums as FIXXXER. He is also a vintage A/S owner and well versed in RV repair. He explained to me that there is a system in place at A/S for the replacement of the Micropulse whereby on some models holes do not have to be cut in the belly pan.
All I can say is Finally, I can boondock and know what my levels are. The battery monitor even shows the same level as my Trimetric.


George
__________________
gandttimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 10:51 AM   #27
4 Rivet Member
 
greghoro's Avatar
 
2013 25' Flying Cloud
Wheaton , Illinois
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 345
Sorry for delayed response. Ma Airforums account was locked out due to "suspicious acrivity"

I have not yet addressed installing the new SeeLevel system but will be attemping to do so before the end of May.

I will fully document once i have completed.


Greg
__________________

__________________
greghoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
See Level tank monitors dznf0g Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes 0 07-02-2014 09:21 AM
Tanks Level Gages on older trailers perryg114 Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes 10 02-12-2014 04:12 PM
to level or not to level urnmor Jacks, Stabilizers, Lifting and Leveling 23 07-30-2012 12:21 PM
See-Level system installed crispyboy Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes 9 07-05-2011 06:45 PM
How level is level? RichardT 1961 - 1963 Bambi 7 03-12-2006 04:52 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.