Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2013, 02:39 PM   #15
Rivet Master
 
KJRitchie's Avatar

 
2008 25' Classic
Wichita Falls , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJRitchie View Post
I've owned my 2008 Classic 25 for two months now and the monitor panel seemed to be working well enough. On our 3rd trip this weekend I knew the black tank was empty except for a couple of flushes but no solid waste and noticed the Micropulse was indicating full with a flashing red light. We were at a water hookup site so I ran the black water flush a couple of minutes. No change.

On the way out I dumped the black water tank, then filled with the black flush and checked the level from the toilet bowl then dumped. Still no change.

While I was at the dump station a gentleman came up to ask me about the AS and I mentioned the problem I was having and he said 99% of all RVs have monitor issues. He did recommend the ice in the holding tank trick. I had a bag of ice in my ice chest so I thought why not and dumped it down the toilet. I added a little water. We only had to drive about 60 miles to get home. When I finished parking the AS in storage I noticed the monitor panel black tank didn't flash red which indicates full any more. The level now read 3/4 full. Maybe the ice was doing something and hadn't finished melting and the sensor was giving a false reading but at least it wasn't flashing red. I'll have to go back out in a couple of days and see if the panel is showing empty now.

Kelvin
Looks like the bag of ice trick helped my monitor issue. I went to storage this weekend and the Black tank is now reading empty vs full. The moving ice must have removed some debris.

Kelvin
__________________

__________________
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 07:31 PM   #16
Rivet Master
 
SteveSueMac's Avatar

 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,412
Well - 2 trips in a row I'm getting weird readings on the black tank. Last time out, it was reading half full after being completely emptied on our previous trip. I have the flush line and used that on our last trip and after several flushes the monitor went down to 1/4 full. Left our last trip having filled the black tank before leaving and a thorough flush.

This trip, after sitting in storage for 2 weeks, it said the black tank was half full. Makes no sense having been completely empty after the last trip. Again I flushed from city water at my current site and drained it dry. Went back in and monitor said it was completely full (huh?).

Shut off the micropulse, turned it in again. Still 100% full. Shut it off an hour ago and will leave it off all night to check in the morning. Thinking of living without it at this point. Thoughts/comments/suggestions most welcome!
__________________

__________________
SteveSueMac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 07:40 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
daveswenson's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Issaquah , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 767
Just reread the OP's post. 3 average showers. 5-8 minutes. Did he use the shutoff or let the water run? Even conservatively figuring 5 minutes at 1.5 gals/min that would be 22.5 gallons. That will put a good dent in the gray water capacity.
__________________
Dave

2014 Ram 2500 CTD
Pro Pride
Centramatics
daveswenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 07:42 PM   #18
Rivet Master
 
Bruce B's Avatar

 
2012 16' International
Jamestown , Rhode Island
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,387
Images: 1
This is all Deja vu...After believing I could actually master the stupid Catcon system for the best part of the first year of ownership of our Bambi I ripped it out and installed one of these......http://www.airforums.com/forums/f163...se-102968.html

It has done nothing but work well thus far.
I understand that most people will not want to go through this exercise but if you want a reliable tank monitor....

Bruce
__________________
Bruce B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 07:54 PM   #19
LEV ZEPPELIN
 
crazylev's Avatar
 
2004 19' International CCD
Chicago , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 930
Images: 10
The tank sensing system in our 03 Bambi ccd has not been used or even turned on in years. Totally use useless IMHO.

Through time, we have learned when things need to get dumped. Good news is if you go over capacity on gray, it starts to back up in shower area, at least in our model.
So you have an opportunity to take measures for that.

Black tank we are able to go for up to 9 days if we do the "if it's yellow, let it mellow" route I.e. don't flush unless absolutely nessesary. We use campground facilities when possible and if they are tolerably clean.

Things get easier once you know your habits and gain experience.
__________________
Sometimes I wish I were living in the stone age. Then I would know I'm the smartest person in the world.
crazylev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 12:09 PM   #20
2 Rivet Member
 
terry.morrow's Avatar
 
2012 23' FB International
Kalamazoo , Michigan
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveswenson View Post
Just reread the OP's post. 3 average showers. 5-8 minutes. Did he use the shutoff or let the water run? Even conservatively figuring 5 minutes at 1.5 gals/min that would be 22.5 gallons. That will put a good dent in the gray water capacity.
Good question... but we do always use the shutoff lever on the showerhead. We've learned to extend our fresh water (and thus our gray capacity) by an extra day between trip one and trip four. so there's a learning curve.
However, with all of that stated, it still makes no sense why the gray and particularly the black tanks show full way before they are. I haven't had an opportunity to recalibrate mine yet, as I've sort of just learned that our usage works just fine for a 3.5-4 day trip. but boy it would be nice if that thing wasn't always blinking red.
__________________
terry.morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 06:41 AM   #21
Rivet Master
 
KJRitchie's Avatar

 
2008 25' Classic
Wichita Falls , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJRitchie View Post
Looks like the bag of ice trick helped my monitor issue. I went to storage this weekend and the Black tank is now reading empty vs full. The moving ice must have removed some debris.

Kelvin
Went out the weekend before the 4th of July. The black tank monitor seems to be working still. On the way out back to storage the dump station at the state park was too busy so I decided to dump at our RV park where we store our AS.

After dumping I decided to give the black tank a good flush. I connected the black water flush hose and filled the black tank watching the level through the toilet and watching the monitor. Only when the water was approaching the bottom of the toilet did the monitor finally indicate full. Then I drained the tank.

This weekend we went out and after a day of #1s and #2s I checked the monitor panel. Darn black tank is reading full again. Prior to dumping I filled the tank up through the black flush and then dumped and no change. Dropped a bag of ice down the toilet and drove home 200 miles, no change.

So frustrating. Its not that I need the monitor for the black tank its the fact we spend a ton of money on a AS and it would be nice to have systems work.

Kelvin
__________________
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 07:02 AM   #22
Figment of My Imagination
 
Protagonist's Avatar
 
2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJRitchie View Post
So frustrating. Its not that I need the monitor for the black tank its the fact we spend a ton of money on a AS and it would be nice to have systems work.
Well, look at it this way… You spent a ton of money on three or four tons of Airstream, so that's a 300%~400% return on your investment!

Seriously, though, it could be worse. On a scale of 1-10, where 1 is "Inconvenient" and 10 is "Catastrophic" a malfunctioning black tank sensor ranks 2 or 3 at most. It's not a trip-killer.

My Interstate has tank sensors (fresh, black, gray, propane) that are supposed to work on 12vDC, but for unknown reasons only works on shore power. As soon as I switch to battery power, it quits working, on all tanks. Which tells me that it's the panel, not the sensors, but doesn't tell me what's wrong with the panel.
__________________
WBCCI #1105
TAC LA-4

My Google-Fu is strong today.
Protagonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 07:27 AM   #23
Rivet Master
 
SteveSueMac's Avatar

 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,412
Kelvin - ours doesn't even register at all now. When we turn on the monitor panel all the lights cycle up in prep mode, then when it sets steady to show all systems, the LED for the black tank is dark - no red, green or yellow. When we cycle through all systems it just skips the black tank reading entirely and even when you try to select the black for monitoring it won't do it. No lights (though they light up when you first power the monitor on). The others (fresh, gray an batt) all seem to work fine.

I'll eventually go in Bruce's direction but will try to have it fixed under warranty. To be honest, it almost doesn't matter. But I agree it's a bit of an annoyance with the $ you shell out on one.

Still - to quote myself :narcissist: "a bad day in the camper is better than your best day in the office"

:-)
__________________
SteveSueMac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 07:05 PM   #24
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 19' Safari SE
Santa Maria , California
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
I just found the answer to my question. Upon downloading the manual, link from SuperTrouper, on page 11 it gives instructions for selecting a single tank for calibration. My manual does not include those instructions at all. So now after replacing my blackwater sensor I CAN calibrate just that tank. Thanks
__________________
Lights-Siren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 08:05 AM   #25
2 Rivet Member
 
2005 25' Safari
Springville , Alabama
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 49
Newbie with an 05 Safari, and going to attempt to recalibrate the Micropulse. Have read the threads on this, but could not find any info related to how you know where the low and high levels are in the tanks? Micropulse manual says you need to add enough water to cover the low level sensor, and then the high level sensor to establish the range for calibration. How do you figure this out? I climbed under it and could not even see where the sensors are at....
__________________
driftwood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 12:14 AM   #26
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 19' Safari SE
Santa Maria , California
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
We were all newbies once.

Let me start off by saying I'm not an expert, but I learned by doing. I replaced my blackwater sensor. It was located on the blackwater drain tube. I believe there is only one sensor per tank. They work by measuring water pressure. That's why there located at the bottom of the tank, or drain. I filled my blackwater tank just barely for the empty measurement, then filled the tank and watched down the commode to see the full measurement. The sensor reads the water pressure at each level, that's how it knows the different levels. You do this as you are in the recalibrate mode at the micropulse panel. Just follow the directions in the manual. If you don't have a manual, you can download one.

Try it yourself first, then if it doesn't work or you screw it up then you can take it in. After a while you won't be a newbie anymore. Good luck.
__________________
Lights-Siren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 04:27 PM   #27
2 Rivet Member
 
2005 25' Safari
Springville , Alabama
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 49
Thanks Lights, that makes sense, will give it a try!
__________________
driftwood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 12:14 PM   #28
1 Rivet Member
 
2010 27' FB International
Bend , Oregon
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Sensor corrosion on Catcon Micropulse systems.
I have had all the problems with calibration and reliability that many on this thread refer to. After many phone calls and emails to Catcon, they offered to check my sensors.
I finally had time to remove my sensors an send them in to be checked. All were found to have 'contact corrosion' and were replaced under warranty.
It seems that Airstream's original installation may not have been as per Catcon's requirements.
I called Catcon today for specifics. They recommended these steps:
1) Use silicone seal where the phone wire goes through the rubber boot.
2) Use NO sealant on the boot to the sensor. It needs some venting to the atmosphere.
3) Make sure there is a good loop in the wire below the sensor so any water will tend to drip off the wire and not into the connector.
4) Use a dielectric grease on the connections to prevent corrosion.
I won't know if this really fixes the problem until I have time to calibrate and test the system. This may not happen until late summer due to my schedule.
If anyone else has had any luck with similar proceedures, please reply to this thread. I'm sure we would all like to hear if this works



2012 International 27FB
WBCCI 6449
__________________

__________________
Blkflg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.