Old 02-13-2013, 10:52 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1976 Argosy 28
Clarksville , Tennessee
Proper support for holding tanks

I've searched multiple different ways and did not find the answer I am looking for. Here's my issue and question:

Like others here, I am swapping the old Thetford valves and related drain lines to Valterra. Parts on order, I wonder about supporting the black tank better. I don't care for it just resting on the removable pan. When I removed all of the bolts holding the access pan, both the pan and the black holding tank dropped a couple of inches to the lower edge of the frame.

Has anyone had issues with tank/fitting damage? How about a way to hold the black tank from such movement?

My brother (the welder, by trade) suggested welding in some angle for support (permanent fix), or drill the frame, install eye bolts & use 2 or 3 ratchet type straps (removable fix).

What are your suggestions?

Thanks, Richard.

76 Argosy 28 (Unnamed as of yet)
ArgosyRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 07:11 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1974 25' Tradewind
Saint Joseph , Louisiana
I recently replace my old/original black and gray water tanks with new ABS tanks that have a pretty wide (1 to 1.5 inch flange) around the top. I supported the tanks by attaching treated 1x2 pine strips under the flanges. The wood strips run the entire length of the tanks. Each wood strip is attached to the plywood subfloor of the trailer by carriage bolts dropped down from the bathroom through the subfloor and through the wooden strips. Thus, the tank flange is fully supported from end to end by the wood strips that are attached firmly to the subfloor by carriage bolts placed about 8 inches apart. I used large flat washers next to the wood strips and lock nuts to tighen the strips to the tank flanges. Hope this helps.

Old 02-15-2013, 08:58 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1976 Argosy 28
Clarksville , Tennessee