Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-15-2012, 10:20 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2012 16' Sport
San Bernardino , California
Newbie dumb question re sewer hookups

I am a newbie with a 2012 Sport 16. It has a combined black/gray tank. I understand the basics of dumping to a dump tank at a facility (rv campground, public dump station, etc.) And I note that "full hook-up" rv campgrounds include sewer hook-ups, right? OK, here's the dumb question I am asking because so far I haven't found a detained explanation in the ton of literature (including the newbie's guide to airstreaming) OR when I asked the mechanic who did the walk-around:

What is involved in hooking up to a sewer connection at your assigned rv pad? The mechanic said the only thing available is to dump your tank at a dump station. But reading conversations on the forum, and the listing of "sewer connections available" leads me to think that one can hook up their rv sewer outlet for continuous use while parked at a full hookup location. Is that true? And if it is (and I suspect it is) what are the details? For instance, do I run the flush hose continually while hooked up or what? Does waste go into my tank and then out into the connected sewer?? And is my 16' Sport even equipped for such a hookup? Maybe the mechanic is right and there is no such thing. But if there is I don't understand why I can't find details on how to do it. Lots of sources for just using the dump stations, however.

Thanks in advance.

-Rich
Rich of SCal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 10:25 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Excella 500
West Sacramento , California