Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-03-2003, 03:53 PM   #1
AV8
2 Rivet Member

Living with / without a gray water tank?

I am looking for an older AS and am wondering about the desirability of the built in Grey water tank. I am totally new to trailer camping, and don’t have a clear picture of the alternative. It seems you can get an external one, but when it is full what do you do? The flip side of the coin seems to be the dreaded frame droop from trailers that have them (mid 70s) and the frames were not designed for them. I think I want one, but I want to have a better understanding of why ;-)

BTW the size I am looking for in a trailer is 25’ I don’t know if they had the frame problems that the longer ones had…
AV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 04:00 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1979 30' Argosy
Havelock , where we park it
Thumbs up We have a 1976 25' Tradewind

Hello and Welcome to the forum.. Marvin and I have the above and just love it.. it has a grey water tank which is full after 2 showers and washing the dishes a couple of times.. we camped at our home park and it does not have full hookups.. so we invested in a little 32 gallon blue wagon.. and it was the best investment.. when it is full just hook it over the ball and pull it slowly out to the dump station.. can be gotten at camping world.. that is where we got it.. we also have no problem with rear frame sag.. or separation.. 25' is the ideal size.. we tow it with a GMC 1/2 ton.. 5.3litre engine.. pulls like a dream.. happy hunting for your trailer .. we hunted for a year.. Annie
Happycampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 04:15 PM   #3
Rivet Master