Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-12-2008, 04:09 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Gresham , Oregon
How does this valve even operate?

I am new to this game. After repairing my water supply plumbing, I'm now into the tank and outlet plumbing. I can't seem to make these valves work. I don't know whether they should be able to pull out, whether I need to turn them first, or whether they should easily slide in and out.

Below are some pictures for help about what I'm talking about. The first is just to give reference. The second picture is the gray water tank valve (the orange goo is that blown-in insulation from the previous owner). The third picture is the black water valve.

Any help would be nice. The owner's manual just says, "Open the valve." Yeah, thanks, Airstream, that was helpful.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P4120001_1.JPG
Views:	136
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	58066   Click image for larger version

Name:	P4120002.JPG
Views:	167
Size:	75.9 KB
ID:	58067  

Click image for larger version

Name:	P4120003.JPG
Views:	135
Size:	77.3 KB
ID:	58068  

Drat, now our little Argy is starting to grow on me. I guess you were...were...were...right, honey.
OregonArgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 04:19 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 31' Sovereign
Miami , Florida
Should pull straight out. If it has not been used recently may be pretty much stuck closed. I got mine loosened up by spraying the shaft as far as I could reach with CRC 2-22 (spray lube) and letting it sit over night.

Mike
n2916s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 04:37 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1983 34' Excella
1967 24' Tradewind