Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-20-2010, 03:11 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1971 27' Overlander
Los angeles , California
Holding tank will not drain

Hello,

I've just purchased a 1971 Overlander and am trying to drain the black water tank. I'm new to the trailer game, and am just coming up to speed. What I'm finding is that it will drain for a bit and then it stops. I then added water to flush only to find that it's diluting the rest as it will never completely drain - basically it's just the water that I'm adding that runs out.
I can still see liquid in the tank after it stops running out and the holding tank gage continues to read 4/4.

Any help?

Thanks in advance...david
dsafian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 03:21 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois
These gauges are frequently wrong. There usually a little liquid remaining in a drained tank. Stick a wood stick down through the john to find out how much remains. You may need to fill the tank with a fairly good size bag of Ice cubes and drive it around a bit to break up the stuff that has sat in the bottom of the tank too long. Then drain it and watch. You might follow that up with a third of a tank of hot water and another couple of miles of sloshing followed by another dump. A little detergent in the water on that trip might help.
dwightdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 06:18 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1977 Argosy 24
Currently Looking...
Milltown , Wisconsin
Is the trailer level front to back and side to side? If it's at an angle the tank may not fully empty when you try to drain it.