Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-10-2009, 12:01 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1960 18' Traveler
1975 27' Overlander
La Honda , California
Holding tank procedures

I've got a 1960, 18' Traveler that I picked up about two months ago. I'm new to the whole RV/trailer business so I've been trolling the forum a whole bunch and you have helped me get through the water, electric, towing, propane and more. I'm down to the water system which so far looks positive.

I found the thread "holding tank procedures" which is great reference. But I have an even more basic question. I seem to have a single tank for waste. I have found a big black pipe out the bottom which is obviously the waste pipe. Is there a valve somewhere or does the river just flow when I open the dam? Is this thing behind the toilet the valve and how do I use it?

Thanks ahead of time before I literally get myself in deep doo doo.

Bob
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0001.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	234.8 KB
ID:	85148  
Woodywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 11:26 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1960 18' Traveler
1975 27' Overlander
La Honda , California
Waste system addendum

OK. I did a little clean up, held my breath and ran a clean water test on the system. The photo of the valve shown is the release. It was sticky and stiff, but once cleaned up, it does allow the river to run once it's opened.

Problem solved.

Bob
Woodywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 06:41 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1972 29' Ambassador
Pottstown , Pennsylvania