Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-19-2015, 05:40 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2015 22' FB Sport
West Halifax , Vermont
Question Can I/Should I Remove Screen on Water Inflow to Wastewater Tanks?

I'm a newbie with a 2015 Sport 22 with a question about the inflow port for flushing out the wastewater tanks. So far, I've only camped at VT state campgrounds, where the water hose at the dump station has a nozzle rather than garden hose type connector. Trying to shoot water into the flush line just gives me a free shower as it all shoots back out! It seems like the little screen that is part of the plastic connector at this port is the problem and I wonder if it's necessary. I don't see any way to remove it and sure don't want to do any damage to this beauty (the AS, not me!) trying. Any advice? Thanks!
Kellycanoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 05:53 AM   #2
CRH
Rivet Master

1995 25' Excella
xxxxx , xxxxxx
Just fill your tanks with water before heading to the dump staton and don't worry about using the flusher. I always add a liberal squirt of dish soap to my grey tank as it's filling.
CRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 06:17 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2008 25' Classic
Full Time , Texas
That fitting is meant for a hose to be connected. The connector is connected to PEX which makes a 90 dee turn up to a back flow valve connected to PEX which goes back down to the black tank. Make sure you blow out the line with compressed air when you winterized. That plastic back flow valve will break if the small amount of water in it freezes.

Kelvin
Old 07-19-2015, 07:40 AM   #4
1 Rivet Member

2015 22' FB Sport
West Halifax , Vermont