Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-05-2004, 06:21 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Black water on a '61 Safari

I'm a Newbie so be gentle. . .

I am going to look at a 1961 Safari twin tomorrow. The seller is admittedly ignorant of systems, etc. of the trailer.

Did this model have a black water holding tank? How large?

The seller advises that the furnace does nto work. Is that a big deal to fix?

Finally, can you refer me to a source for a AC for the unit that would look okay and cool that size trailer?

He is asking $6,500 for the trilaer and it is supposedly in good orginal shape. Good deal?

Any other items/issues to beware of with this model?

Thanks in advance for your wisdom.
Marlboro Mafia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2004, 07:00 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

Malboro

First welcome to the best A/S forum out there. I'm relatively new to A/S myself, I'm sure other will respond with better answers, but there is my 2 cents.

Black water tank: If the toilet is raised up on a platform about 6" to 8" then it has a black water tank. Back then the tank was above the floor.

Furnace: It would depend on whats wrong with it to decide if it would be worth repairing. Good news, no electronic parts for a 61 furnace. Worse case could easily be replaced. Approx cost $500 to $600 depending on BTU's

A/C: There are several good brands available Coleman, Dometic to name two. They both make a low profile that looks good on a A/S's

Price: Can't help you there, depends on overall condition. Check out this to help with price: http://www.vintageairstream.com/rr_t...condition.html