Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-14-2006, 04:52 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1965 26' Overlander
1960 28' Ambassador
Vintage Kin Owner
1975 20' Argosy 20
Upper Black Eddy , PA
black tank/water heater repair questions

Well, I just purchased the tow vehicle for the 1965 Overlander. Now, when I get a chance to retrieve the trailer (half a country away), it is going directly to the shop for an AC installation and other fixer-uppers. I think the shop is a good shop--but being a novice, I could be completely taken advantage of and probably not even know it . Now, the questions. The previous owner had the black water tank removed (reason-unknown), so this will need to be done. Being a newbie, I know nothing about black water tanks (other than the stink factor!). should i just have the repair shop purchase one for the install or should I shop around? What am I talking about in terms of price for the tank itself? Second question, the 65 comes with the original Bowen 9 gallon water heater. Seller indicated that the water heater did work upon a "heat test", but that he would recommend replacing the pilot assembly. Is this reasonable or should the water heater be repalced for safety reasons. What brand is recommended, will I be able to find a heater with a 9 gallon capacity, what is a reasonable cost for a replacement water heater (if necessary)?

Kathy
kdenault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 06:28 PM   #2
Remember Burma Shave!

2006 19' Safari
2000 25' Safari
1985 25' Sovereign
Fort Myers , SW.Florida
Lightbulb A Nasty Job ... !

KDENAULT (Kathy),

Follow some of THIS MEMBER’S threads.