Old 01-18-2010, 11:33 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1994 34' Excella
Anderson , Texas
black tank replacement??

Hi, I am new at this. Was installing a new toilet and the ring on the floor to the tank was twisted off at the tank by accident. Is there any way to fix the part that was attached to the tank? If not, does anyone out there know how to take down the black tank and put in a new one??
Tks, cmn

Old 01-19-2010, 09:42 AM   #2
Site Team

1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Welcome to airforums.com!

I'm not sure what it is that has happened, but be aware that there is a flange that screws into the threaded opening of the tank, and this flange screws to the floor.

If it has become unscrewed, well, it's simple to replace. But if you mean that the threaded neck of the tank has broken away from the plastic (fibreglass?) tank, then that's something else.

Can you post a few pictures?

Old 01-19-2010, 09:28 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1994 34' Excella
Anderson , Texas
Smile black tank replacement

Well, a friend tried to help but he did twist it off at the tank. It is plastic too. Now I am thinking I am not that good of a creative thinker so I wondering if I just need to replace the tank and how hard is that?? I will try to get some pictures tomorrow and send them back. Thanks for the help
Old 01-19-2010, 10:27 PM   #4
Site Team

1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
OK, let me see if I can explain it better.

This picture is a toilet flange. It's upside down in the photo. Imagine it turned the other way, then screwed into the matching female threads in your black tank. The flange is then screwed to the floor with wood screws.

The notches in the edge of the flange are for machine screws to go into the flange upside down, and let you fasten the toilet to the flange with nuts.

Hope this helps a bit more...
Attached Images

Old 01-20-2010, 04:09 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member

1994 34' Excella
Anderson , Texas
black tank