Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Fresh Water Systems
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-02-2015, 04:22 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1976 31' Sovereign
Springfield , South Carolina
Pump runs, no pressure '76 Sovereign

Hi yawl, 76 Sovereign mid berth has been sitting up under a shed for about 21 months. I was in a wreck in 2013 (got rear ended and knocked cold, messed up shoulder and discs in neck) and have not been in any shape to put it on the road. But we have decided to go to the NRA Meetings in Nashville, Tn next week so I hooked her up and pulled it out a couple days ago.

Before putting her to bed I drained tanks like I have been doing since 2010 when I got her and before, put water in tank and turn on pump and it pressured right up.

Pump runs fine but won't build pressure. I hooked up city water and pressured system up and got all the air out of all lines and no leaks.

Just inside hatch under counter on the left I have always been able to see water flowing through the filter. It has the letters PAR on it and has a clear top and blue bottom. I can see some water movement in the very bottom but not like it used to flow.

I checked air in all tires and pulled it to town and back thinking the sloshing water might loosen something up but to no avail.

There is no leaks around the filter and I am thinking there must be a air leak as the system normally pressures up and quits and has held quite well in our trips in 10,11, 12.

I am thinking of loosening the screw to the cap on the PAR filter assuming this will allow access to the filter screen to see what is happening????

Thought I would querry your guys first.
Hummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 04:36 PM   #2
Rivet Master