Old 04-21-2013, 09:05 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1974 31' Sovereign
Rogers , Arkansas
No water flow after hooking to city water

I'm pulling my hair out! I'm new to airstreams but not travel trailers. The person I bought this 1974 Sovereign 31 from had no clue how to turn anything on or even how the trailer operated. I hooked up the city connection and water leaked out the bottom. I found two valves under the stove and one under the bathroom sink. I turned those off and now no leaks but still no water. Am I missing a valve? I don't know what to do next so any info would be helpful. Thanks!

Old 04-21-2013, 09:21 AM   #2
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grevers911 View Post
I'm pulling my hair out! I'm new to airstreams but not travel trailers. The person I bought this 1974 Sovereign 31 from had no clue how to turn anything on or even how the trailer operated. I hooked up the city connection and water leaked out the bottom. I found two valves under the stove and one under the bathroom sink. I turned those off and now no leaks but still no water. Am I missing a valve? I don't know what to do next so any info would be helpful. Thanks!
There is a brass water check valve in the rear compartment.

If it's locked up, city water will not be able to enter the coach.

They sometimes lock up when not used for a long time.

Andy 14.3

Old 04-21-2013, 11:41 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Quote:
I think the valves you turned off under the stove are the system drains, and since you had water running out of those, there's probably nothing wrong with your check valve.

However, I don't know about the valve you say you turned off under the bathroom sink, but it might be one of the bypass valves for the water heater, and that one being off might be your problem. Turn it back on and see if you have water then.
Old 04-21-2013, 11:48 AM   #4
Rivet Master

Common Sense , Texas