Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Fresh Water Systems
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-09-2004, 11:28 AM   #1

Fresh Water All Over

I just purchased a 2002 22' CCD (like new), except when I filled the fresh water tank through the filler tube, I never got a burp back at the filler and water was running under the unit on the driveway. What a disapointment!
This 2002 has belly pans installed (retro). What should it do? Spit back at the fill/small vent or is there a gooseneck on the tank for the overflow. How many connections are actually on the tank? Are the tanks polypropylene (like marine tanks) or fiberglass? I can't believe AS would just let the water run out and over everthing. Please help, I'm brand new at this!

THERE ARE THREE GATES ONE MUST PASS THROUGH BEFORE SAYING A WORD. 1) IT MUST BE TRUTHFUL! 2) IT MUST BE NECESSARY!! 3) IT MUST BE KIND!!!
TOASTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 11:49 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Fresh Water All Over

Greetings TOASTER!

Welcome to the Forums and the world of Airstream ownership!

Since the coach is new to you, I suspect that it may still be winterized. There are low-point drains as well as a fresh water tank drain that exit through the coach's floor. When the fresh water tank is filled, water may exit from any of these points if the valves aren't closed. Your Owners' Manual should indicate where the fresh water tank drain valve can be found as well as the low-point drain valves.

Typically, when all of the low-point drains and fresh water tank drains are closed, water will exit from the vent tube when the fresh water tank is filled.