Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Fresh Water Systems
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-03-2007, 02:45 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1978 28' Ambassador
Kenton , Ohio
Dripping H2O tank

I have a 1978 Ambassador. There is a threaded plug in the bottom of my fresh water tank that has a slow drip. About a drop every few seconds. This tank was replaced by the factory about 5 years ago and has never leaked. I winterize it every year by draining that tank. I can't figure this slow leak out. I don't believe it is coming from the threaded plug but I will remove that, wrap it with teflon tape, put it back in and check it anyway. I think it is up higher and is just dripping out of that spot. All I can think of is that perhaps I have a loose clamp and it is dripping back from the water hose going to the pump. It will drip days after I have put water into the tank so I do not think that it is spillage from filling the tank. Any suggestions?
Many thanks.
Tom
tlavergne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 02:49 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
West of Fort Worth , Texas
Another spot to check is the filler hose. Mine was leaking at the joint where the hose meets the fill receptacle at the exterior wall. Of course the end at the tank could also leak. Good luck with it.
Dave
Fyrzowt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 04:14 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlavergne