Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Fresh Water Systems
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-20-2012, 11:17 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1974 31' Sovereign
Bothell , Washington
1974 Airstream Sovereign filling freshwater tank

Okay so here is my dillema. I'm totally new to airstreams and "RV" lifestyle alltogether. I purchased my airstream two weeks ago, and during the testing of the systems everything appeared to be functioning with the water tank system. Here is what is happening now:

Water tank is empty, so I fill it up 1/4 full according to the control panel. At first it was all just coming out the hose in the bottom, so I found the "close" handle under the sink to prevent the tank from emptying while I was filling.

At 1/4 full, I turned off the water and returned to turn on the water pump and test the system. Both shutoff handles were opened (i assume these goto different parts of the trailer/hot water tank). With the water pump running (let it run for about 5 minutes and still didn't stop), I tried turning on the sink water and got nothing...same in the bathroom.

At this point I realized water was again dripping from that hose (i presume it is the drain hose) under the trailer.

I inspected around the tank for any leaks, and it was all dry. Somehow water is still flowing out the bottom and my faucets aren't working.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Leo

https://ismelltexas.wordpress.com
texasbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 11:37 AM   #2
Site Team

1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
In my '74 31' Sov, there are three taps in a well in the floor in a cupboard between the sink and the furnace.

They are "low point" drains, and are meant to be used to drain the system for cold-weather storage only.