Old 04-27-2016, 07:01 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1996 28' Excella
aguanga , California
Stripper prep

Ok I've Purchased my clear coat stripper and my graphic removal product and am getting ready to prep for the stripper application. My question is should I completely remove the awning. It seems logical that I want to strip every inch in preparation for polishing but what do I know I'm a newbie.

Any advice is appreciated

Old 04-27-2016, 07:18 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1972 27' Overlander
Denver , North Carolina
Removing the awning and any other peripheral objects makes good sense

Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums

Lucky Dave, Denver NC
mccrosti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 01:10 PM   #3
Tampatomgirl

1990 34' Excella
Zephyrhills , Florida
What product did you use to strip the clearcoat? Did you end up removing the awning? I need to start stripping my '90 Excella. I really don't want to remove the awning!!!
Old 06-22-2016, 07:22 AM   #4
1 Rivet Member

1996 28' Excella
aguanga , California
Awning

I removed the awning in preparation for the stripper but it was easier than I thought. I actually hired in awning contractor to remove it for me but after watching him do it, I could have easily done it myself. It literally was just a couple of screws and The awning slides right out of a track that I left on my Airstream. I did not see any reason to remove the track.
Old 06-23-2016, 09:07 AM   #5
Tampatomgirl

1990 34' Excella
Zephyrhills , Florida
Thanks for the info. Curious which stripper you used. The Removeall 220 is no longer available. I've seen Citristrip mentioned here.
Old 08-11-2016, 09:07 PM   #6
3 Rivet Member

1992 29' Excella
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcantillon View Post