Old 11-03-2008, 10:03 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1967 28' Ambassador
Barrington , Rhode Island
Rough Exterior

hello,

I am new to this forum and to Airstream ownership, so I thought I would introduce myself and my project with this thread.

I have been working on my 67 Ambassador for about 2 months now, but I only have time on the weekends so it is slow going. I am planning on turning it into a cafe/diner so it is completely gutted and I have no aspirations to restore anything about the original interior. Anyhow, the interior is a subject for another day. Right now I am trying to get the exterior cleaned up before it gets too cold.

I have already done 2 rounds of Removall to get rid of the plasticoat, and it looks like it is mostly gone, though some spots are still splochy. I have also powerwashed it twice and removed the WBCC stickers and any other unnecessary stuff stuck on the exterior. There are lots of scratches on the skin, lots of odd spots, dark areas from sealant, and the roof is extremely oxidized. Please see attached pictures.

I did a test area with Nuvite F7 but the results are less than inspiring. Should I try the coarse grade? The stuff is expensive. Also, if anyone knows where I can get some Alcad Aluminum for patches in the New England area, I would be much obliged. Thanks to anyone who can share some insight.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2664.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	80.6 KB
ID:	70803   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2678.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	70804  

Name:	IMG_2682.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	95.1 KB
ID:	70805  

Old 11-06-2008, 11:58 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1973 25' Tradewind
New Smyrna Beach , Florida
The long road