Old 08-01-2006, 06:01 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1970 27' Overlander
Gainesville , Florida
Smile HELP! TOTAL Newbie seeks polishing advice!

Hello All,

As of yesterday evening my brother and I are the proud owners of a 1970 '27 Overlander in suprisingly good shape. We are interested in bringing the exterior into a little better shape, and were considering doing some polishing. We would really like to shine it up SOME (we don't really want to go for the mirror shine, as good as it looks), and wanted to know if anyone could provide any guidance. Should we use NuVite, and if so, what grade? We would like to remove some of the oxidation and make it a little shinier, but prefer a look that is pretty easy to maintain... anyone have any suggestions?

Should we use a buffer? If so, what type, and is there anything to avoid?

Should we remove all of the decals first, and do we need to use any kind of stripper on it? Is there any way to polish the decals up and make them look more attractive?

There are also two blue strips that go all the way around our "new" beauty that are in pretty rough shape. Can you buy paint for them and go at it, or should you replace them? If so, where would you buy that?

I sure would appreciate just a little help, as we are extremely excited to become a new part of the Airstream brotherhood! We just want to do our silver bullet a little justice in the meantime... THANKS A LOT!

Old 08-01-2006, 07:01 PM   #2
uwe

2007 25' Safari FB SE
1958 22' Flying Cloud
1974 29' Ambassador
Yucca Valley , California
Send a message via Skype™ to uwe
Quote:
Originally Posted by '70verlander
Hello All,