Old 07-29-2002, 08:06 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1967 22' Safari
Coquitlam , Beautiful BC
Darned water spots!

I have been polishing my Airstream for several months now.I do not have covered storage for it quite yet so it is exposed to the elements parked on my parents farm.Living on the West Coast,we get our fair share of rain and that is becoming a frustrating problem for me.Areas on my trailer that were polished a month or so ago,and have since been exposed to several rains,are now badly spotted and streaked.I know that wiping down one's wet Airstream with a micro-fiber cloth prevents spotting,but I am unable to attend to the trailer every darned time it rains here.What I am finding is,even though I am washing the trailer(with some liquid Dawn detergent in hot water);rinsing it well with water and the wiping with a micro-fiber cloth,the stubborn,pre-existing spots and streakiness still remain.This is incredibly frustrating,given how much time I put into polishing these panels.....not too mention how poor these areas look compared to recently polished areas that have not been rained on yet!

I have tried wiping these problem sections with Glass Wax...this seems to help,but only just a little.The majority of the spots and streakiness still persist.

Can anyone suggest ANYTHING else that might work?Or is re-polishing these areas the only solution?I sure hope not.....because I I'll be polishing till kingdom come to stay on top of this headache!

Any and all suggestions much appreciated.

Old 07-29-2002, 08:56 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1983 27' Excella
Airstreamville , Kansas
Water spots

I have'nt used it in a while but I think either lemon juice & water or vinegar and water will remove water spots, however lemon juice is high in acidity so dont leave it on long.

John

Old 07-30-2002, 06:33 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1965 20' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Houston , Texas