Old 03-12-2013, 10:49 AM   #1

2007 28' Safari
Milwaukee , Wisconsin
Unhappy corrosion on aluminum exterior

on some of the edges between sheets of aluminum i have a white corrosion starting which i would like to remove without damaging the surface below which is the normal satin finish. i have a 2007 28' safari. I understand that a clear krylon spray after removal of the corrosion is proper. I would love some recommendations on the best way to remove the corrosion.

Old 03-12-2013, 11:36 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Merkel , Texas
While I am relatively new at this myself, I think the the recommended treatments are Boeshield T-9, which was developed by Boeing, and Corrosion X Aviation, among others. These are supposed to help remove corrosion and protect the trailer. Seems like there may be others available that I can't recall but someone else will chime in with more information. The first of these is available from the Airstream store and maybe both are. Amazon also may have one or both. Good luck in the treatment and welcome to the forum.

Old 03-12-2013, 12:19 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
Unless the corrosion is especially hideous and up into the rivets, it may be best to control it rather than remove it. Depending upon its presence near salt water or winter road salt, you may want to treat it monthly after each wash, or annually.

I have found CorrosionX and Boeshield T-9 to be effective, getting into the corrosion up under the clear coat finish where it spreads, displacing moisture, and preventing it from spreading.

Boeshield leaves a paraffin wax film after it dries, and it a heck of a mess to get off the panels. Don't spray it on, wipe in on with rag very sparingly, let it soak awhile, then go back and lightly wipe off the excess. I use a Q-tip dipped in a cap of it to run along all the cut edges and rivets, then wipe in on the fittings.