Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-29-2007, 09:05 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1971 23' Safari
MUSCLE SHOALS , Alabama
Clearcoat Removal

I am a newbie and a more confused than ever on the subject of clearcoat removal and what to do next.

I have a 1971 Safari 23' with deteriorated clearcoat. I plan to use Napier Removall 220 stripper. Now, for the what to do next question-I prefer not to spend the time or the money required to polish to a mirror finish-at least for now. Can I not just for the sake of protecting my Airstream from further (and or future) corrosion damage by removing the clearcoat and then simply waxing. If so, what is recommended?

Also, has anyone heard of or used a product called Alodine 1001 (brightens aluminum and protects from corrosion) from Aircraft Spruce & Speciality Co. ?

Thanks,

equigley
equigley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 09:08 PM   #2
Rivet Master

San Angelo , Texas
Haven't heard of it, but there's a guy in Gilroy, CA who has a company that specializes in cleaning metal, specifically anodized aluminum. I had a 1968 Streamline (anodized aluminum trailer) and I took it to him to get the yellowing out. The trailer was spotless, when I got it back. Here's the link:

metal wax.com

Frederic

2004 F-350 King Ranch

AIR # 8239
EX-WBCCI # 8371
StingrayL82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 09:44 PM   #3
More than one rivet loose

Currently Looking...
Los Alamos , New Mexico
Alodine is NOT a wax. It is a chemical reactive coating it bonds to the aluminum. This is how they made Wally's golden trailer.

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 04:24 AM   #4
Silver Mist

Currently Looking...
Riverhead , New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingrayL82