Old 08-23-2010, 08:21 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
1978 28' Ambassador
Savannah , Georgia
Cheap rivet polisher

I am not an expert by any means. Try this at your own risk. Faced with years of salty corrosion around the rivets, I tried many different things. Neighbor who restores motorcyles suggested taking a piece of black vacuum tubing and putting it on a bolt that had the head cut off. Secure it to a drill and then put a dab of polishing compund on the end. The tubing is about the same size as the head of the rivet. 4 seconds of polishing and the corrosion disappeared. The same principle as what a dental hygenist uses to polish your teeth. Only used a dab of marine 3M polishing compund and the areas around the rivets and the rivets shined like a new dime. May expertiment with other polishes. Needless to say this saved me alot of rubbing with bronze wool. Hope the pics show my results. Jack
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Airstream rivet polish tool 002.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	371.1 KB
ID:	109192   Click image for larger version

Name:	Airstream rivet polish 013.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	314.3 KB
ID:	109193  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Airstream rivet polish 014.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	327.0 KB
ID:	109194  

Skamper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 08:46 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member
1975 31' Sovereign
Houston , Texas
Arrow Sweatshirt salvation

Interesting. Thanks for the tip. (no pun intended)

Seems though that the center of the Rivet head would not get touched by the open area in the rubber hose. Leaving sort of a dull bullseye.

How far from the polishing end of the device do you have before the inserted bolt. (i.e. the recess)?

Does the rubber seem to wear away quickly?

Maybe rubber is a secret material to polish Airstreams all over..??? Thus conserving the world's sweatshirt population.

____ d'drummer ____

Distantdrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 08:47 AM   #3
Rivet Master
1977 Argosy 24