Old 05-31-2005, 03:15 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1963 28' Ambassador
Orange , California
Buff Buff Buff!!

OK- I am polishing my 63 with Lucas Oil Metal Polish and Mother's. I'm new at this exterior stuff, so here are a few ??
1. Is it OK to use 4000 Ultra Fine steel wool to remove pits?
2. How about those deep scratch marks? Is there anything that will help with that?
3. Do I need a grittier polish than the Lucas Oil stuff to really get in there?

I was using 3M 111, but it wasn't cutting it enough...

Teresa

Old 05-31-2005, 03:24 PM   #2
uwe

2007 25' Safari FB SE
1958 22' Flying Cloud
1974 29' Ambassador
Yucca Valley , California
Send a message via Skype™ to uwe
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjj's63
OK- I am polishing my 63 with Lucas Oil Metal Polish and Mother's. I'm new at this exterior stuff, so here are a few ??
1. Is it OK to use 4000 Ultra Fine steel wool to remove pits?
2. How about those deep scratch marks? Is there anything that will help with that?
3. Do I need a grittier polish than the Lucas Oil stuff to really get in there?

I was using 3M 111, but it wasn't cutting it enough...

Teresa
Teresa,

Are you trying to achieve a super deep glossy finish, or just tryng to spiff up the trailer a bit? Are yo using machines or are you buffing by hand?
Can youdo a search on polishing on this forum? It will give you many, many pages of info on polishing, and the different mothods.
A good starting poit is here:
www.perfectpolish.com
This site has a basic overview on how to polish an Airstream, and what would be appropriate to use.
If you're real careful, you can use super fine abrasives to smooth out nicks and scratches a bit, but be gentle so you won't create new prolblems.
I have had decent results with 1000grit paper, using it wet.
Again, a search of the forums will reveal many methods, opinions and products that would work for you.

Old 05-31-2005, 03:46 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1963 28' Ambassador
Orange , California