Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-25-2017, 04:21 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2009 19' Flying Cloud
Monroe , Washington
2009 19' corrosion issues.

I've done a bunch of searching though the forums. Please excuse me if i missed it. I'm a newbie on this site. I have had this 2009 Airstream since new. Over the last couple years I've had this strange thing happening that looks like little white worm trails under the clear coat. The dealer says nothing can be done about it without striping it and re-clearing it for big $$$$$. I Walberize it really well every 6-8 months but these little corrosion spots are driving me nuts, and becoming more frequent. I'm to the point of where I want to strip all the clear-coat and polish this baby up. I see tons of info on striping and polishing old vintage trailers but haven't seen anything about newer Airstreams. Could someone point me in the right direction, or is it exactly the same as the older versions. Strip with aircraft aluminium stripper etc? Thank you for all your help, excited to be part of this forum for more info. Sorry it took me so long to sign up.
Hvacow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 04:32 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 31' Sovereign
Miami , Florida
Well, you have filiform corrosion. Unsightly but not serious. To minimize, after a good washing, when thoroughly dry, treat all the edges around Windows, seams, door cutouts with Boeshield or Corrossion X. Both of these products will seal the edges where water is wicking up under the factory applied clear coat.

Do a forum search for "filiform" and you should get better instructions than mine.

As for stripping and polishing, that is well out of my league...
Dismissive cat
n2916s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 04:46 PM   #3
Site Team

2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
2009 19' corrosion issues.