Old 03-10-2009, 04:54 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1979 Argosy 27
1969 21' Globetrotter
1953 25' Cruiser
Front Royal , Virginia
Upset with Camping World. Would you be?

Hey I am new to the travel trailer world so when I bought my new 79 Argosy I wanted someone to check the thing out and let me know what I was in for. I spent over $1000 for them to give it:

1. 45 point inspection
2. pack the bearings
3. clean and check the hot water heater and furnace.
4. request they check the Axel and brakes
5. give me an orientation on what was what
6. re winterize the trailer

After I went I had my suspicions on what they actually did. The guy told me:

The brakes were fine. However, I know that wires were broken off, just dangling down to the ground and they could not work.

Told me the axles were fine and the rusted shocks don't do anything necessary. After reading Andy's thread about the dura torque Axel they are not fine and need to be replaced.

The propane lines were fine, no leaks. However, the line to the hot water heater was crimped closed near a shut off under the trailer. Wouldn't you check the visible shut off valve when you check for the propane leaks?

The hot water heater did not work. No s&^% the line was crushed closed.

Told me he removed the furnace to clean it and it did not work. So I took it out the see about replacing it. The were so many mud dobber mounds the vents are plastered completely shut and about 4 inches thick. To say the least it was never touched.

He allegedly check the water lines but now I have my doubts. I am afraid to test it until the weather warms up and a less of a chance of things freezing.

I am slowing learning about my Argosy and enjoy working on it. But the more I learn the more upset I get about wasting that money and having the feel of being lied to. I took it to Camping World because I thought that they would serve me right. I have friends that take their trailers there and recommended it.