Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-27-2012, 03:43 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2010 23' FB Flying Cloud
Smithville , Texas
Trailer Jack

My 2010 FB23 came with the Barker 3000 trailer jack. Since the beginning I'd often have to flip the switch several times to operate up or down. Yes, I shoulda took it back for warranty repair immediately but I didn't. Now it will go one way but not the other. The switch is OK. Dead spot in electric motor? We use this trailer a lot....over 80,000 miles in two years.

Anyway, it's out of warranty and I'm tired of troubleshooting. Yes it has a good ground.

Have any of you replaced these with a manual jack? If so what did you use? Any opinions on this? I can afford a new Barker but don't know if I want to mess with it. If I do is it hard to install? Since I've been cranking this one by hand for three months, whacking my hand on the tank screw wing nut if I'm not careful, a normal crank up seems least troublesome.

Advice will be appreciated. As you can tell, I'm all over the place on this.

Matt
Matt Kline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 04:33 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 19' Safari
GLENDALE , AZ
I purchased the Atwood Power Trailer Tongue Jack (Model 08515), which has worked well for us for a couple of years. The review below is dated 06/26/11; but the jack was actually purchased a year or two before this, and that's the date when I finally got around to writing the review on Amazon.com.

Please note the load rating of this jack. Depending on your Airstream model, tongue weight and tow vehicle, you may need a jack of different capacity (e.g., heavy duty, 3,500 pounds)

==========

Atwood Mobile Products 80515 Marine Deluxe Power Jack: Amazon.com: Sports & Outdoors

==========

Extract of Amazon.com product review:

Atwood Power Trailer Tongue Jack (Model 08515), June 26, 2011 -- 5.0 out of 5 stars