Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-10-2017, 09:21 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1957 22' Caravanner
San Rafael , California
Total newbie needs help identifying parts on 1957 Caravanner

Hi community! First off I apologize in advance if I am not posting this in the correct area or asking questions that have already been answered on the forums before. This is my first time posting but have spent many many hours scouring the forums for info (have to say it's not that easy to find the info I am looking for but maybe I am not searching correctly)

Anyways I have a beautiful 1957 airstream caravanner that I am working on the upgrade systems while trying to keep as much of the trailer in its original form as possible. Currently I am focused on electrical and plumbing systems. I know the tank for the toilet needs to be replaced. After researching the forums I think I have figured out the the waste tank (black water) is not under the belly pan but sits above the floor under the toilet and I am assuming that the pipe that comes out from the belly pan attached directly to that tank and then was meant to drain into a hole (I guess in the 50's they just dumped their waste directly into a hole?!?). I believe what I have is obsolete so now I am trying to figure out how or replace. I am working with the folks at vintage airstream supply but would love any advice from the community on this as well.

see attached photos. Would love any input from the community if I am on the right track. Also (and I recognize this is likely a dumb question) can anyone tell me what the two little hoses are on the street side of the belly are?

Thanks in advance!

Jen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version