Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2007, 01:57 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 21
Testing shore power

I have a 66 GT and was wondering if I can simply plug it into my garage to make sure everything is working ok. My garage is on a 20 amp breaker and the book or the AS said it has a 30 amp shore power. Can I just hook it up and see or will I blow a breaker.
__________________

__________________
nbka1bm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 02:03 PM   #2
Rivet Master<br><img src="/ugala/forums/images/5rivet.gif">
 
CanoeStream's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,279
Images: 19
Blog Entries: 3
You'll be fine. The largest load is always the air conditioner -- you'd need a dedicated 30A outlet for that. Use a 30A-15A adapter for the shore power line. Just don't run the A/C.
__________________

__________________
Bob

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 02:03 PM   #3
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,124
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
You can test everything exept the Air Conditioning. Get a 30 amp to 15 amp adapter for the plug and you are set.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 02:05 PM   #4
Rivet Master<br><img src="/ugala/forums/images/5rivet.gif">
 
CanoeStream's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,279
Images: 19
Blog Entries: 3
Richard, my kids would always say "Jinx, you owe me a pop!" when two people said the same thing at the same time. [pop = soda. so that both "civilized halves of the world unnastan' here]
__________________
Bob

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 02:06 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 21
No Ac

Now I notice my cord is not long enough to reach can you hook a drop cord w/o any problems
__________________
nbka1bm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 03:43 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
you need a cord rated for the load and distance. too light a wire size can do damage.
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 04:22 PM   #7
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbka1bm
Now I notice my cord is not long enough to reach can you hook a drop cord w/o any problems
12AWG minimum and preferrably, 10AWG for over 30 feet.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:01 PM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
1972 25' Tradewind
Madison , Wisconsin
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 396
20 or 30 amp?

When I first got my tradewind (72), it had a 30 amp plug and a single 20 amp circuit. I did test run the Air Conditioner on a garage 20 amp circuit when I bought the unit and it seemed to run fine. The same unit seems touchy on an industrial type (generac 5500) generator.

I later separated out the charger and the rear outlets into a second 20 amp circuit. I have only run the Air Conditioner for a short while twice each of the last two summers, just to turn it over more than to cool down.

My question is...do some of the older models run safely on 20 amps? I really do not feel like crawling up there to replace a starter capacitor (and what ever else would fry!).

The original manual came with the trailer and indicates only a 20 amp circuit.
__________________
Smokin Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:20 PM   #9
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbka1bm
Now I notice my cord is not long enough to reach can you hook a drop cord w/o any problems
That would be a problem. A better solution would be to get a 30 RV extension cord. Wal-Mart cheap and everywhere.
Otherwise the voltage drop will be too high and the smallest cord will heat up.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 08:10 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Lumatic's Avatar

 
1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,642
Images: 16
Blog Entries: 1
My experience is you can run the fan on the AC on 20 amps. If you run the cooling cycle it may even seem to run OK but you can damage the AC, or so I have been told. I have pretty regularly run lights, charged the battery and run the fridge (not at the same time) with a 100' extension cord typical of hardware store gauge, not a RV 30amp, with absolutely no problems
__________________
Sail on silver girl. Sail on by. Your time has come to shine.
Lumatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 10:18 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
ROBERTSUNRUS's Avatar

 
2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,266
Images: 18
Blog Entries: 51
Hi, I have had several different portable and window airconditioners [not at the same time] in my house plugged into my 20 amp wall sockets with no problems; So why can't I run my Airstream airconditioner off of my 20 amp house circuits? [I have already done this] What is going to get damaged and why? I just read that a 15,000 BTU A/C is rated at 15.4 amps and my unit is a 11,000 BTU unit. Note: I use the 30 amp cord with a 15/20 amp adapter; No extention cords. Has anyone out there burned up their RV airconditioner because it was plugged into their house receptical?
__________________
Bob

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 02:13 AM   #12
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,124
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
One of the issues in my opinion is the adapter. I have seen plenty of 15 amp adapters, but never a 20 amp adapter. You also need to consider that when you plug in you will also be putting a few amps into your power converter plus what ever you pull with the air conditioner. The numbers for me were just too close for comfort. I have a 30 amp RV plug wired at my power panel. Plenty of power, no adapter and no worries.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 08:47 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
LHall's Avatar
 
1962 28' Ambassador
Phoenix , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 830
Images: 17
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBERTSUNRUS
Hi, I have had several different portable and window airconditioners [not at the same time] in my house plugged into my 20 amp wall sockets with no problems; So why can't I run my Airstream airconditioner off of my 20 amp house circuits? [I have already done this] What is going to get damaged and why? I just read that a 15,000 BTU A/C is rated at 15.4 amps and my unit is a 11,000 BTU unit. Note: I use the 30 amp cord with a 15/20 amp adapter; No extention cords. Has anyone out there burned up their RV airconditioner because it was plugged into their house receptical?
My fairly new Carrier AirV is toast because of two situations in my opinion. The first is that my trailer had a short in the main power cord causing a hot skin on the trailer. The short was in the umbilical cable and the main power box on the trailer. The wiring was shot and the insulation was riddled with cracks causing a voltage leak to the skin of the trailer. Secondlly I had my rig plugged into the house on a 20 amp circuit with a long extension cord. I believe that due to both issues, I fried the AC unit. I have since installed a 30amp dedicated circuit on the house and am awaiting the arrival of my new Carrier Low Profile AC unit. I learned an expensive lesson.
__________________
Louis & Sergio

Air #22673
WBCCI# 2731
Four Corners Unit
LHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 09:11 AM   #14
3 Rivet Member
 
jkcru's Avatar
 
2010 28' Flying Cloud
Escondido , California
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 195
Don't confuse running amperage with starting amps which can be 50% higher
__________________

__________________
jkcru is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shore Power Again The Flintstones Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 13 10-09-2007 08:18 PM
50 and 30 amp shore power tinbender Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 15 06-22-2007 11:33 PM
Shore power and battery power problems jfremstad Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 05-03-2007 09:23 AM
Shore power sockets niftypkg Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 2 02-26-2007 07:35 AM
Power w/o batt. just shore... crazylev On The Road... 8 11-12-2004 05:14 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.