Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-30-2019, 07:10 PM   #1

1966 26' Overlander
Burlington , Iowa
Taking out the Bathroom to turn into a bedroom

Hello!!! I am just getting started on my airstream adventure!! It is a '66 Overlander. I have ripped up the carpet in it and my next step is going to be taking out the bathroom to turn into a bedroom. My question is how hard do you think this will be Nd will there be anything that I'll need to know about before I start??? Thank you so much.
Stephie34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 08:14 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2000 25' Safari
Davidson County , NC Highlands County, FL
Welcome to the Air Forum! I see this was your first post.

When your start adding back bedroom stuff, remember you have to retain balance of weight. You can't much weight to the rear, behind the axles, without affecting how the trailer will tow.
Old 05-31-2019, 04:46 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Ditto first.response.

No bathroom plus extra bedroom? Even if it is going to be permanently parked in your back yard this might be a bad idea. Having to run into the house? At might? In the rain?

If you campground camp, the facilities might be several hundred feet away, or just not nicely maintained.

Traveling - you can't pull into every gas station or fast food place, only those with large parking lots and more than one driveway. Being able to pull into a rest stop or a store parking lot knowing your restroom is clean - priceless.

Suggest strongly that you read a few full restoration threads before you proceed.
Old 05-31-2019, 06:25 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2013 20' Flying Cloud
Westerly , Rhode Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephie34 View Post